Archive for the 'Elections' Category

Labour candidate wants ferries to Petone – to reduce traffic on SH2


Press Release – NZ Labour Party
“I’ve supported re-opening the Petone Wharf since it was closed and the proposed use by the ferry service could potentially help pay the costs of repairing the wharf,” says Ginny Anderson, the Labour candidate for Hutt South. Read more »

Needed: leadership, and accountability

by Ian Apperley
As we near the six-month point after last year’s local elections, Wellington is in strange shape. While we hear that city councillors and the mayor have found some new common ground and are working better together than the last council, the city has seen almost zero progress on some fronts and embarrassment from some key allies. Read more »

From three councils to one: new plan for local government in Wairarapa

News from Local Government Commission
The Local Government Commission is calling for submissions on a draft proposal to change the structure of councils in the Wairarapa. The proposal – for one combined Wairarapa District Council – follows extensive collaborative work by the Commission and the Wairarapa councils, with the public, in developing options for local government in the district. Read more »

Dunne condemns “disgraceful, despicable” pamphlets distributed in Ohariu

News from United First NZ Party
Ohariu MP Peter Dunne has condemned pamphlets being distributed in the Ohariu electorate by a group called the Rolling Thunder as “disgraceful, despicable racist bigotry.” Read more »

Candidate delighted by purchase of forest

Press Release – Greg O’Connor
“As one of the 200 people who attended the public meeting, and also having spent time in the forest, I am absolutely delighted for Tawa and indeed the people of Wellington that the Forest of Tane will now officially be preserved as an asset for current and future generations” Ohariu Labour candidate Greg O’Connor said. Read more »

Migrant group names candidate for Wellington Central

Press Release – Migrant And Refugee Rights Campaign MARRC
Newly formed political group Migrant And Refugee Rights Campaign (MARRC) has announced they will run a candidate in Wellington Central. Gayaal Iddamalgoda, a legal organiser for First Union, will stand for migrant and refugee rights. Read more »

National names businesswoman and mother of 4 as Wellington candidate

News from NZ National Party
Nicola Willis has been selected by National to contest the Wellington Central electorate at the 2017 General Election. Ms Willis is a born and raised Wellingtonian, mother of four, and businesswoman, having previously held senior leadership roles at Fonterra. Read more »

Housing to be discussed at Labour Party meeting in Petone

News from NZ Labour Party
Labour’s Hutt South candidate Ginny Andersen and MP Trevor Mallard are hosting a public meeting to discuss housing in the Hutt Valley next Monday at 7pm. Read more »

Annette King leaving politics; supports Jacinda Adern as new deputy leader

News from NZ Labour Party
“After some reflection, I have decided to step down from the Deputy Leader’s position in the Labour Party,” said Rongotai MP Annette King today. Read more »

Annette King “made an indelible mark,” says Paul Eagle


News from Paul Eagle
Labour’s Annette King has made an indelible mark on New Zealand politics and society and her legacy will be remembered for years to come, says the Labour candidate for Rongotai Paul Eagle. Read more »

Orange guy at O-Week

Press Release – Electoral Commission
Enrolment teams will be at orientation events helping students get enrolled and ready to vote in this year’s General Election. Read more »

Paul Foster-Bell leaving Parliament; doesn’t want selection contest for Wellington

News from NZ National Party
List MP Paul Foster-Bell has announced he will not contest the selection for Wellington Central and will stand down from Parliament at the 2017 General Election. Read more »

Counting the houses


It’s a popular political habit – to include existing work in announcements of new programmes. And so it was yesterday when Justin Lester announced “at least 750 new units” of social and affordable housing plan. His total included 105 units that are already being built at his council’s Arlington site. Read more »

Voting with gritted teeth in Ohariu


by Gordon Campbell
Any social liberals left in Ohariu face something of a dilemma. Do they vote against Peter Dunne in order to change this government’s dismal policies on health, education, the environment, welfare and the economy? Or do they vote tactically for Dunne, to try and prevent Greg O’Connor – now selected as Labour’s Ohariu candidate – from becoming this country’s next Minister of Police? Read more »

No Greens candidate in Ohariu – “priority is changing the government”

News from Green Party
The Green Party has decided to not stand a candidate in the Ōhāriu electorate for the 2017 general election. Read more »

Greg O’Connor committed to defeating Peter Dunne in Ohariu electorate

News from NZ Labour Party
“Having won the hotly contested nomination to be the Labour Party candidate for Ōhāriu, I now look forward to focusing on the battle ahead to win the seat back for Labour,” the newly selected Labour Party candidate, Greg O’Connor said today. Read more »

Housing, health and transport: critical Rongotai election issues for Paul Eagle

News from NZ Labour Party
The New Zealand Labour Party is pleased to confirm Paul Eagle as its candidate for Rongotai for this year’s General Election. More than 100 party members turned up to hear Eagle give his confirmation speech as the sole nominee for Rongotai. Read more »

Who’ll be the new deputy mayor?

Who’ll be the next deputy mayor of Wellington? Paul Eagle, now officially the Labour candidate for Annette King’s Rongotai electorate (with its 9000 majority), says he won’t resign from the council till he’s won the seat. As that seems fairly certain, Justin Lester will soon be needing to make a shortlist of names who could take over the job. Read more »

Next Page »