25 new films from Cannes to premiere at film festival in Wellington

News from NZIFF
The New Zealand International Film Festival (NZIFF) today announced that 25 films from last month’s Cannes Film Festival will screen at the festival, which starts in Wellington on 28 July. All the major Competition winners from Cannes are confirmed to screen.

The films announced today include In Competition titles The Square, winner of the Palme d’Or (Best Film); BPM (Beats Per Minute), winner of the Grand Prix; The Killing of a Sacred Deer, winner of Best Screenplay; Happy End from director Michael Haneke and starring Isabelle Huppert; and Loveless, winner of the Cannes Jury Prize.

“We’re still in shock at the size and quality of titles secured direct from Cannes this year – and the nerves of steel required to secure them so immediately after their World Premieres. Our programmer Sandra Reid was in Cannes to experience these films, with the world’s most demanding audiences. I believe in we’re for an exceptional year of international cinema,” says NZIFF Director Bill Gosden.

The Square, a wide-sweeping satire set in the art world, will open the festival in Wellington on 28 July. Good Time starring Robert Pattison is confirmed to close Wellington on 13 August.

“The closing night film will send festival goers back into the real world with a shot of pure adrenaline.” says Gosden.

The 21 films announced from Cannes are:

From the In Competition selection

BPM (Beats Per Minute) https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/bpm-beats-per-minute/

A Gentle Creature https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/a-gentle-creature/

Good Time https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/good-time/

Happy End https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/happy-end/

The Killing of a Sacred Deer https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-killing-of-a-sacred-deer/

Loveless https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/loveless/

The Square https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-square/

From Cannes Un Certain Regard

The Desert Bride https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-desert-bride/

Western https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/western/

Wind River https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/wind-river/

The Workshop https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-workshop/

From Cannes Directors’ Fortnight

I Am Not a Witch https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/i-am-not-a-witch/

Let the Sunshine In https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/let-the-sunshine-in/

Marlina the Murderer in Four Acts https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/marlina-the-murderer-in-four-acts/

Patti Cake$ https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/patti-cakes/

Cannes Special Screenings

Claire’s Camera https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/claires-camera/

The Venerable W. https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-venerable-w/

Cannes Midnight Screenings

The Merciless https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-merciless/

A Prayer Before Dawn https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/a-prayer-before-dawn/

Cannes Out of Competition

Faces Places https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/faces-places/

Napalm https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/napalm/

Three Cannes titles have previously been announced: The Beguiled (In Competition, Best Director for Sofia Coppola), Top of the Lake:China Girl (Special Screenings), and Blade of the Immortal (Midnight Screenings).

NZIFF is run by a charitable trust and encourages lively interactions between films, filmmakers and audiences. The full NZIFF programme will be available online tonight at 7pm, and on the streets on Friday 30 June in Wellington. The first Wellington Film Festival was held at the Paramount in 1972.

 

No comments yet.

Write a comment: