Wellington Scoop

Porirua teenager qualifies for finals of Auckland Darts Masters

Press Release – Auckland Darts Masters
Porirua teenager Darren Herewine is one of three qualifiers for the finals of the 2017 Auckland Darts Masters.

The other two qualifiers are Mark Cleaver, and Rob Modra. Cleaver, who competed in the PDC World Series of Darts event in Auckland in 2015, will make his second appearance on the big stage after winning Thursday’s Qualifier One.

Teenager Darren Herewini, a 16-year-old sprinkler technician from Porirua near Wellington, will make his TV debut in the tournament after he claimed success in Friday’s Qualifier Two.

Herewini defeated Mike Keen, Casey Matthews, Tahuna Irwin and Clinton Bridge on his way to the final, where he saw off experienced Kiwi Koha Kokiri – who recently qualified for both the Unibet Melbourne Darts Masters and TABtouch Perth Darts Masters – with a 6-4 win.

Kokiri was also left disappointed in Saturday’s final DPNZ Qualifier as he lost in a deciding leg in the final to Rob Modra, the 45-year-old from Adelaide.

Modra, who pushed Gary Anderson to a deciding leg in their first round tie in Auckland two years ago, whitewashed both Ben Robb and Vinnie Adams and defeated Haupai Puha and Landon Gardiner for the loss of two legs in each game before edging past Kokiri.

The trio complete the field of Oceanic Representatives for the third Auckland Darts Masters, alongside Australian duo Kyle Anderson and Corey Cadby and Kiwi trio Cody Harris, Rob Szabo and Warren Parry.

They will take on eight top PDC stars in Friday’s Auckland Darts Masters first round, headlined by reigning champion Gary Anderson and the legendary 16-time World Champion Phil Taylor.

2015 Auckland Darts Masters finalist Raymond van Barneveld, former TV title winners Peter Wright, James Wade and Simon Whitlock and young talents Michael Smith and Daryl Gurney complete the eight PDC representatives in the three-day tournament.

The Auckland Darts Masters, presented by TAB and Burger King, will be held from August 11-13 at the Trusts Arena. For tickets, visit www.ticketek.co.nz.

Auckland Darts Masters, presented by TAB & Burger King

Final Field

PDC Representatives

Gary Anderson

Peter Wright

James Wade

Phil Taylor

Raymond van Barneveld

Michael Smith

Simon Whitlock

Daryl Gurney

Oceanic Representatives

Invited Players: Kyle Anderson & Cody Harris

Top two players from 2017 DPNZ Rankings: Rob Szabo & Warren Parry

DPA Qualifier: Corey Cadby

DPNZ Qualifiers: Mark Cleaver, Darren Herewini, Rob Modra


Qualifier One

Thursday August 3, Swanson RSA

Rob Modra 4-1 John Kelly
Darren Herewini 4-1 Clinton Bridge
Mark Cleaver 4-0 Mike Day
Ben Rob 4-1 Monty Tuhua

Rob Modra 5-3 Darren Herewini
Mark Cleaver 5-1 Ben Robb

Mark Cleaver 6-3 Rob Modra

Qualifier Two

Friday August 4, Swanson RSA

Koha Kokiri 4-2 Mike Day
Jason Ladbrook 4-3 Rob Modra
Clinton Bridge 4-0 Ben Robb
Darren Herewini 4-3 Tahuna Irwin

Koha Kokiri 5-0 Jason Ladbrook
Darren Herewini 4-1 Clinton Bridge

Darren Herewini 6-4 Koha Kokiri

Qualifier Three

Saturday August 5, Swanson RSA

John Kelly 4-1 Selwyn Robson
Koha Kokiri 4-2 Mick Lacey
Landon Gardiner 4-0 John Hurring
Rob Modra 4-2 Haupai Puha

Koha Kokiri 5-0 John Kelly
Rob Modra 5-2 Landon Gardiner

Rob Modra 6-5 Koha Kokiri

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url