Wellington Scoop

After final results are announced: Nicola Willis is no longer an MP

After the final results were announced this afternoon, the Wellington Central electorate has two MPs instead of three.

On election night, when Labour MP Grant Robertson held his big majority, the electorate also gained two list MPs – James Shaw of the Greens and Nicola Willis of the National Party.

Today, however, after all special votes have been counted, National’s share of the nationwide vote has fallen from 46 per cent to 44.4 per cent. As a result, the party’s MPs drop from 58 to 56, with the loss of two list MPs. One of them is Nicola Willis.

The Labour vote has today risen from 35.8 per cent to 36.9 per cent, with the party gaining one new list MP. The Greens also gain one more list MP, with their share of the vote rising to 6.3 per cent. New Zealand First’s nine MPs do not change.

All electorate candidates leading on election night have been confirmed as winning their seats. The smallest majority is in Ohariu, where Labour’s Greg O’Connor has held the seat by 1051 votes over National’s Brett Hudson – who stays in Parliament as a list MP.

And Rongotai also continues to have two MPs – being represented not only by Labour’s newly elected Paul Eagle but also by National’s list MP Chris Finlayson.

BusinessDesk: English seeks first talks with NZFirst
Wellington.Scoop: Post-election talks begin
Gordon Campbell: Winston Peters’ end game
DomPost: Sunday talks in the Beehive