Wellington Scoop

Achievers’ Awards offer trips to Wellington as prizes

Press Release – Asthma and Respiratory Foundation of New Zealand
Know someone inspiring with asthma or a respiratory illness, who should be acknowledged? The Asthma and Respiratory Foundation NZ is now calling for nominations for the Respiratory Achievers’ Awards 2018.

Foundation Chief Executive Letitia O’Dwyer says the awards are an opportunity to honour and celebrate the achievements of New Zealanders living with a respiratory condition and every nominee receives a certificate.

Six achievers’ award winners will be flown to Wellington all expenses paid, to be presented an award at a prestigious national award ceremony on 19 April.

The awards are held every two years, and 2018 will be the 30th year the awards will take place. The first Respiratory Achievers’ Awards were held in 1988.

Previous achievers in 2016 came from all walks of life and their stories are all inspirational. They include:

• Jaide Campbell (Canterbury), winner of the asthma 5-12 years category who lives life to the fullest despite having had over 30 hospital admissions;
• Josh Marker (Whangarei), winner of the asthma 13-18 years category who has achieved impressive results racing BMX nationally, despite having moderately severe asthma;
• Holly Pittar (Wellington), winner of the asthma adult category who has almost lost her life on a number of occasions due to asthma, however this doesn’t stop her from studying to be a GP;
• Pauline Mohi (Christchurch), winner of the chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) category, Pauline was diagnosed with COPD 25 years after giving up smoking. While many everyday things are an effort, Pauline regularly supports others at pulmonary rehabilitation programmes;
• Emily Arps (Christchurch), winner of the other respiratory conditions category has a rare syndrome that causes frequent infections of the lungs, sinuses and ears. Emily works as a health promotor and engages in a number of volunteer roles;

“What better way to say well done to a friend or colleague who has a respiratory condition than by nominating them for a Respiratory Achievers’ Award. Make someone’s year and send through your nomination today,” says Letitia O’Dwyer, Chief Executive of the Asthma and Respiratory Foundation NZ.

The Award categories are:

• Asthma 5 to 12 years old
• Asthma 13 to 18 years old
• Asthma adult
• Other respiratory conditions (including cystic fibrosis, bronchiolitis and bronchiectasis)

All nominations will also be eligible for the Cody Forbes Award for Courage. This award is in honour of a boy from Turangi, who had cystic fibrosis and died in May 2007 shortly after his 16th birthday.

The Respiratory Achievers Awards ceremony will be held in conjunction with the Respiratory Media Awards, which reward excellence in health journalism.

For more information or to download a nomination form: asthmaandrespiratory.org.nz. Nominations close on 28 February 2018.

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url