Wellington Scoop

Countdown underway for Cycle Classic

News from Cycle Classic
The 2018 New Zealand Cycle Classic will get underway in the Wairarapa next week with over 100 riders taking part representing seven nationalities.

The New Zealand Cycle Classic, the only Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) 2.2 accredited tour staged in the country this year, will be held from January 17th – 21st with riders coming from Australia, England, Ireland, South Africa, New Zealand and Switzerland. Included in this is, for the first time, the Swiss National Pursuit team who are using the Tour as an important part of their preparation for the 2018 World Track championships held in Holland and the Australian Cycling Academy team and Brisbane Continental cycling team.

Returning are English based professional team JLT Condor and Australian based professional teams Bennelong SwissWelness, featuring defending champion Kiwi Joe Cooper; Oliver’s Real Food Racing, GPM Stulz and Movious Future Racing.

Race director Jorge Sandoval is excited about the starting list and says Kiwi riders to watch include Cooper, Michael Vink (Brisbane Continental team) and Brad Evans (Movious).

Australian riders expected to do well include Michael Potter, who finished third during the weekend’s Australian Road U23 Championships and Ryan Thomas (Brisbane Continental Cycling Team). In addition, Sandoval predicts big things to come from Australian Sam Crome (SwissWelness).

“Sam is a strong hill climber and won last year’s stage up Admiral Hill,” he says. He has been very active in the 2017 Asian calendar and finish 7th during this month’s Australian elite road championships – seconds behind some of the Tour de France riders.

This will be the 31st year the New Zealand Cycle Classic has been held. After several years being staged in Wellington and the Manawatu, the five stage elite men’s road race returns to the Wairarapa, one of New Zealand’s most popular road cycling destinations located only one hour’s drive or train ride from Wellington, the country’s Capital City.

The Tour has developed a reputation for unearthing new talent, with many riders having gone on to win stages in the Tour de France, the Tour of Italy and world championship titles.

New to the tour this year are two routes that weave through Wairarapa’s rolling country side and the team’s presentation which is now open to the public and will be held during a festive evening setting on Tuesday, 16th January at Mitre 10 Mega in Masterton. This promotional evening will include a freestyle BMX display; fun cycle obstacle course for children; a free barbecue and a promotional circuit ride for club riders. The elite teams will also ride the same Criterium circuit enabling spectators to get a taste of what exciting, international racing will unfold in the coming days.

Being held simultaneously, is Huri Huri a series of community based cycling events designed to celebrate the Wairarapa’s bike-friendly roads, tracks and trails; the people that ride on them and the bikes they ride. These include: an opportunity to explore the historic Castlepoint Station by bike along three different coastal tracks on Saturday, 20th January and the fun, family events being during the team’s presentation on Tuesday, 16th January.


Teams Official Presentation & Promotional Criterium: Tuesday, 16th January 2018
From 5pm – all welcome
Mitre 10 Mega Masterton, evening
Includes teams presentation, Criterium, Huri Huri BMX display, family BBQ

Stage One. Wednesday 17th January 2018
Masterton – Alfredton – Masterton

Stage Two. Thursday, 18th January 2018
Masterton – Gladstone Circuit – Masterton

Stage Three. Friday, 19th January 2018
Masterton – Martinborough

Stage Four. Saturday, 20th January 2018
Masterton – Te Wharau – Admiral Hill

Huri Huri event
Explore Castlepoint Station by bike, 20th January 2018

Stage Five. Sunday, 21st January 2018
Masterton. Riders complete 12 laps of a 10km circuit.

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url