Wellington Scoop

Capital Coast surf lifeguard award finalists announced

Press Release – Surf Life Saving
The finalists for the 2018 Surf Life Saving Capital Coast Awards of Excellence have been announced ahead of this month’s ceremony in Porirua, where lifeguards from throughout the region are celebrated for their stellar efforts throughout the year.

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise Surf Life Saving New Zealand (SLSNZ) members for their hard work and dedication to surf lifesaving in New Zealand.

The Capital Coast Awards of Excellence will be held at the Plimmerton Boating Club on Sunday June 10 and include lifeguards from across the region including the Titahi Bay, Lyall Bay, Levin-Waitarere, Maranui, Worser Bay, Otaki, Paekakariki, Palmerston North, Foxton and Riversdale Surf Life Saving Clubs.

The winners of each category from the Capital Coast awards are then automatically selected as finalists in the national SLSNZ Awards of Excellence, held in Auckland this September, where the national award winners are announced.

Netta McKee Cagney, Lifesaving Manager for the Central Region says the awards are an important way to end a busy season and recognise the contribution lifeguards make to the community in keeping people safe in the water.

“The Awards of Excellence are a great opportunity to congratulate and celebrate everything that our members have done over the past patrol season,” she says.

“There are finalists from almost every club in the Wellington, Kapiti, Wairarapa, Horowhenua and Manawatu area which just goes to show the amazing work these surf lifeguards have made right around the region. It will be a tough task choosing the winners as they’re all so deserving.”

To get updates about the awards and the winners, follow the Surf Life Saving Central Region Facebook page.

Capital Coast Awards of Excellence finalists:

U19 Lifeguard of Year

Chloe Crowe, Titahi Bay

Emma Kemp, Lyall Bay

Fiann Blackham, Levin-Waitarere

Finn Speirs, Maranui

Jess Mellsop, Worser Bay

Joshua Braddock, Otaki

Thomas Downs, Paekakariki

Lifeguard of the Year

Adam Pennington, Palmerston North

Amy Spiekerman, Paekakariki

Cameron Turchie, Lyall Bay

Darryn Stapleton, Titahi Bay

Geoff McDonnell, Maranui

Kim O’Leary, Foxton

Nathan Berry, Levin-Waitarere

Tessa Bruin, Worser Bay

Instructor of the Year

Anna McDonnell, Maranui

Ben Flynn, Paekakariki

Josh Harvey, Worser Bay

Sam Roff, Lyall Bay

Suzanne Blatch, Levin-Waitarere

Sportsperson of Year

Kayla Imrie, Paekakariki

Lewis Clareburt, Lyall Bay

Wil McDowell, Titahi Bay

U19 Sportsperson of the Year

Adam Stella, Titahi Bay

Che Pulepule, Maranui

Luther Maxwell, Lyall Bay

Sports Team of Year

Lyall Bay Open Womens Boat Crew, Lyall Bay

Maranui U16 Mens Taplin Relay Team, Maranui

Paekakariki U23 Womens Boat Crew, Paekakariki

Titahi Bay Open Mixed Double Ski Crew, Titahi Bay

Coach of the Year

Daniel Cudby, Foxton

David Jones, Paekakariki

Lizzy Bunckenburg, Titahi Bay

Rhys Speirs, Maranui

Samantha Lee, Lyall Bay

Surf Official of the Year

Glen Jones, Titahi Bay

Ian McIntosh, Lyall Bay

Teri Anderson, Paekakariki

Natasha Perkins, Paekakariki

Tracey Reynolds, Maranui

Volunteer of Year

Andrew Bates, Lyall Bay

Georgia McLaren, Titahi Bay

Justine Crawford, Worser Bay

Marco Cecioni, Paekakariki

Mike Taylor, Riversdale

Rhys Speirs, Maranui

Liz Fitzgibbon, Levin-Waitarere

Innovation of the Year

Rhys Speirs, Maranui

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url