Wellington Scoop

Graduation day for 60 new police officers

News from NZ Police
Sixty new constables celebrate the end of their studies at the Royal New Zealand Police College in Porirua when they graduate this Thursday.

Minister of Police Stuart Nash, Commissioner Mike Bush and other members of the Police executive will attend the ceremony. Also present will be Wing Patron Sir David Carruthers KNZM, a former Chief District Court Judge. Sir David was appointed as Chair of the Independent Police Conduct Authority in April 2012, a role he retired from in August 2017.

Among the 23 women and 37 men graduating, the youngest is 19 and the oldest is 45.

A large number of the recruits have family connections to Police, carrying on the legacy from uncles, fathers, cousins, partners and even a twin brother.

There are diverse backgrounds among those in the group. Some originally hailing from India, Tonga, Fiji, China and the Netherlands. Many of them speak their native tongue, which may come in handy when serving New Zealand’s diverse communities.

Constable Jade Buitendag was born in Zimbabwe. She and her family moved to New Zealand where she says they have been shown great kindness and generosity.

“I will be forever grateful to New Zealand and its people for helping my family in our time of need.

I wanted a job where I could give back to others and Police is an amazing opportunity to do just that,” says Jade.

This is not the first time many of the constables have represented New Zealand in uniform before. Eight have served in the New Zealand Defence Force, another two worked for Aviation Security Services, and another was previously a Corrections officer.


The Minister’s Award, which acknowledges the top student, goes to Constable Emma McVey, who is being deployed to Eastern District.

Two awards went to Constable William Sams.

The Canterbury-bound officer has been praised for his skills in physical training and defensive tactics, and firearms skills and safe practices.

Constable Jessica Lynch, who is being posted to Canterbury, won the Commissioner’s Award for Leadership.

It recognises her outstanding potential to lead herself and others.

Congratulations also go to new Bay of Plenty Constable Rory Brickland, who won the driver training and road policing practice award.

Where the officers are going – District breakdown:

Northland – 4

Waitemata – 2

Auckland – 2

Counties Manukau – 3

Waikato – 4

Bay of Plenty – 7

Eastern – 4

Central – 8

Wellington – 8

Canterbury – 12

Southern – 6

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url