Wellington Scoop

Nine mayoral contenders: final list of all Wellington council nominations

The Wellington City Council has today released a list of all the candidates who have been nominated for the elections in October. Nominations, including nine contenders for the mayoralty, closed at midday.


Norbert Hausberg
Don Newt McDonald
Jenny Condie
Justin Lester
Conor Hill
Diane Calvert
Andy Foster
Andrew Cox
Ajay Rathod

Motukairangi/Eastern Ward

Steph Edlin
Sarah Free
Sean Rush
Bernard O’Shaughnessy
Chris Calvi-Freeman
Teri O’Neill
Ajay Rathod

Paekawakawa/Southern Ward

Laurie Foon
Fleur Fitzsimons
Thomas Morgan
Humphrey Hanley

Pukehīnau/Lambton Ward

Nicola Young
Iona Pannett
Brian Dawson
Shan Ng
Harry Smith
Tamatha Paul
Lee Orchard

Takapū/Northern Ward

John Apanowicz
Jenny Condie
Peter Gilberd
Malcolm Sparrow
Jill Day
John Peters
Tracy Hurst-Porter
Graeme Sawyer

Wharangi/Onslow-Western Ward

Rebecca Matthews
Conor Hill
Rohan Biggs
Diane Calvert
Richard McIntosh
Ray Chung
Simon Woolf
Michelle Rush
Andy Foster

Capital and Coast District Health Board

Letitia O’Dwyer, Nathan Clark, Sue Kedgley, Marion Clark, John Apanowicz, Vanessa Simpson, Roger Blakeley, Ayesha Verrall, David Shand, Shan Ng, John Peters, Eileen Brown, Janet Holborow, ‘Ana Coffey, Glenda Hughes, Kathryn Adams, Chris Kalderimis, John Fiso, Susan Turner, Letitia Isa, Alvin Mitikulena, Simon Marsh, Stephen Grice.

Makara-Ohariu Community Board
Wayne Rudd, John Apanowicz, Christine Grace, Hamish Todd, Chris Renner, Darren Hoskins.

Tawa Community Board
Steph Knight, Damian Hewett, Graeme Hansen, Richard John Herbert, Anna Scott, Robyn Parkinson, John Peters, Jackson Lacy, Bronwyn Thurston.


  1. Andrew, 16. August 2019, 15:36

    Only two candidates for the southern ward and neither are independent. [This comment was published with an earlier, incomplete version of the report.]

  2. Kay, 16. August 2019, 18:17

    Four candidates nominated for Southern Ward. Humphrey Hanley is independent. I don’t know about Thomas Morgan.