Wellington Scoop

127 schools join campaign to get students active

Press Release – Greater Wellington Regional Council
Movin’March is approaching but there is still time for schools to sign up for the month-long free initiative that encourages students to walk, cycle and scoot to and from school.

Led by the Regional Council and supported by local councils, Movin’March invites schools (year 0-8) from across the region to get active over the month of March.

Last year over 37,000 students took part in Movin’March and more than 71 active students walked away with MYRIDE vouchers, Prezzy cards, Warehouse Stationery prizes, and Family passes to Zealandia, Wellington Zoo and Staglands.

Regional Council travel choice coordinator Kirsty Barr says so far 127 schools have signed up for 2021.

“We have heaps of different competitions that encourage students and whānau to participate. From our whānau photo competition to a new challenge called Movin’Minds, where students can think creatively about how to persuade their peers to walk or wheel to school,” says Kirsty.

Movin’March continues its sustainability theme with the return of their ‘planet-friendly’ prize packs that together with the stamping of passports, really motivate families to walk or wheel to school over March and beyond.

“We really love the way students express their concern for the planet, so we’ll keep supporting their environmental mind-sets with our merchandise and prizes that continue a stronger environmental theme,” says Kirsty.

“This month is all about encouraging children to not only get active, but also to think about why our travel choices are important and how sustainable travel positively effects the environment.”

There are also classroom resources for teachers to integrate Movin’March into the school curriculum, more Te Reo options, and a total of 12 x $400 MYRIDE vouchers to be won across the region.

Greater Wellington Transport Committee Chair and Councillor Roger Blakeley says: “Every year we see an incredible turn out for Movin’March – it’s fabulous to see tamariki, families and schools getting active, which supports student and families’ wellbeing.

“We encourage schools to sign up now, so their students can take part this in wonderful initiative.”

To sign up for Movin’March visit: www.movinmarch.com/

The schools that have signed up for Movin’March:

1 Avalon School HCC
2 Belmont School (Lower Hutt) HCC
3 Boulcott School HCC
4 Eastern Hutt School HCC
5 Epuni School HCC
6 Fernlea School HCC
7 Hutt Central School HCC
8 Kelson School HCC
9 Konini Primary School (Wainuiomata) HCC
10 Koraunui School HCC
11 Korokoro School HCC
12 Maungaraki School HCC
13 Naenae School HCC
14 Normandale School HCC
15 Pomare School HCC
16 Randwick School HCC
17 Rata Street School HCC
18 Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School HCC
19 Sacred Heart School (Petone) HCC
20 St Bernadette’s School (Naenae) HCC
21 St Claudine Thevenet School HCC
22 St Michael’s School (Taita) HCC
23 Tawhai School HCC
24 Wainuiomata Primary School HCC
25 Waterloo School HCC
26 Wilford School HCC
27 Kapakapanui School KCDC
28 Kapiti School KCDC
29 Kenakena School KCDC
30 Otaki School KCDC
31 Our Lady of Kapiti School KCDC
32 Paekakariki School KCDC
33 Paraparaumu Beach School KCDC
34 Paraparaumu School KCDC
35 Raumati Beach School KCDC
36 Raumati South School KCDC
37 Waikanae School KCDC
38 Adventure School PCC
39 Corinna School PCC
40 Discovery School PCC
41 Mahinawa Specialist School and Resource Centre PCC
42 Maraeroa School PCC
43 Natone Park School PCC
44 Papakowhai School PCC
45 Paremata School PCC
46 Pauatahanui School PCC
47 Porirua School PCC
48 Postgate School PCC
49 Pukerua Bay School PCC
50 Rangikura School PCC
51 Russell School (Porirua East) PCC
52 St Pius X School (Titahi Bay) PCC
53 Wellington Seventh-day Adventist School PCC
54 Birchville School UHCC
55 Fergusson Intermediate (Trentham) UHCC
56 Fraser Crescent School UHCC
57 Mangaroa School UHCC
58 Oxford Crescent School UHCC
59 Pinehaven School UHCC
60 Plateau School UHCC
61 Silverstream School UHCC
62 St Brendan’s School (Heretaunga) UHCC
63 St Joseph’s School (Upper Hutt) UHCC
64 Totara Park School UHCC
65 Trentham School UHCC
66 Upper Hutt School UHCC
67 Carterton School WAI
68 Chanel College WAI
69 Dalefield School WAI
70 Douglas Park School WAI
71 Featherston School WAI
72 Fernridge School WAI
73 Greytown School WAI
74 Kahutara School WAI
75 Martinborough School WAI
76 Masterton Intermediate WAI
77 Masterton Primary School WAI
78 Solway School WAI
79 South End School WAI
80 South Featherston School WAI
81 St Mary’s School (Carterton) WAI
82 St Patrick’s School (Masterton) WAI
83 St Teresa’s School (Featherston) WAI
84 Tinui School WAI
85 TKKM o Wairarapa WAI
86 Wainuioru School WAI
87 Whareama School WAI
88 Amesbury School WCC

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url

No comments yet.

Write a comment: