Wellington Scoop

Wellington cyclist wins women’s title at Taupo duathlon championships

Press Release – Triathlon New Zealand
Conditions proved almost perfect for the Contact National Duathlon Championships and the National School Duathlon Championships at Taupo Motorsport Park today, with the day dawning cool and foggy but soon clearing to blue skies and warm temperatures for the close to 500 participants.

The women’s title was taken out by Elaine Brent (Wellington) after defending champion Mel Burke withdrew late in the first run leg, a troublesome tendon behind her right knee being the culprit.

In the women’s U19 elite sprint it was a very fit looking Maddie Dillon who took out the honours, winning the U19 elite title and being first overall across the line in the sprint distance.

There was a surprise winner in the elite men’s race, with Brett Tingay from Christchurch making a successful transition from his middle distance track exploits to the much longer discipline of running and biking over the standard 10km run, 40km bike and 5km run.

Racing was perhaps at its most competitive in the elite U19 National Schools sprint championship, with Sam Ward (St Kentigerns Auckland) an impressive winner in the boys race, holding out Thomas McLaughlin and Zac Barber, with all three dipping under the hour mark for the race. In the girls it was a great win for Sophie Evans (Avonside) from Nadia McDonnell and Samantha Olley.

The cheers were loud and long all day though for competitors as young as 10 and as old as the over 75 category, with Ray Bennett winning honours in that category as the heat of the day really took hold.

Schools from as far away as Whangarei, Ashburton, Gisborne and Christchurch were represented in the National Schools Competition, as well as a great turnout from the local schools in Taupo and surrounding areas.

Contact National Duathlon Championship
Taupo Motorsport Park

Standard Distance 10km run, 40km bike, 5km run
Elite Men
1 Brett Tingay Chch 1:57:54
2= Josh Harrison 1:58:26
2= Andrew Small 1:58:26
Elite U23 men
1 Owen Miller Orakei 2:00:49
2 Lachlan Davey Wellington 2:02:45
3 Alex Roberts 2:16:52
Elite Women
1 Elaine Brent Wellington 2:13:59
Sprint Distance 5km run, 20km bike, 2.5km run
U19 Elite Men
1 Tayler Reid Gisborne 58:33
2 Kieran Coates Whakatane 1:00:37
3 Josh Kenyon Taupo 1:02:13
U19 Elite Women
1 Maddie Dillon Auck 1:05:19
National Schools Duathlon Championships
U19 Boys
1 Sam Ward St Kents 57:39
2 Tom McLaughlin Hamilton Boys 59:10
3 Zac Barber St Bede’s 59:29
U19 Girls
1 Sophie Evans Avonside High 1:11:23
2 Nadia McDonnell Tokomaririo High 1:11:55
3 Samantha Olley Craighead Dio 1:13:15
U16 Boys
1 Fynn Thompson Wakitipu College 45:23
2 Mitchell Rutter Otaki College 45:33
3 Nathan Schuurman Chch Boys High 45:45
U16 Girls
1 Madeline Evans St Kents 50:06
2 Nicole van der Kaay Taupo Nui-a-tia 50:53
3 Jaimee Leader Palm North Girls 50:57
U14 Boys
1 Dan Hoy Westlake Boys 35:25
2 Matthew Manning St Kents 38:26
3 Caleb Aoake St Kents 38:46
U14 Girls
1 Katherine Badham Takapuna 40:29
2 Emma Daniels Sacred Heart NPly 41:18
3 Mikayla Harvey St Kents 41:47
Year 8 Boys
1 Bradley Christison Tutira Primary 23:59
2 Flynn Palmer Bucklands Beach 24:42
3 Louis Poot Huanui 25:08
Year 8 Girls
1 Estafana Fowler Baradene 26:34
2 Georgia Clode Baradene 27:16
3 Alicia Hoskin Ilminster Int 27:28
Year 7 Boys
1 Saxon Morgan St Andrews Prep 25:42
2 Logan Slee Hutt International 26:08
3 Thomas Christison Tutira Primary 26:33
Year 7 Girls
1 Eden Bastiaanse St Andrews Prep 28:16
2 Jessica Banks Ashburton Int 29:32
3 Julia Davis Taupo Int 29:47

Complete results will be posted online later today, click here for details

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url