Wellington Scoop

Celia Wade-Brown increases her majority; Helene Ritchie keeps her seat

News from Wellington City Council
The remaining 650 special votes in the Wellington City Council elections have been qualified and counted and there have been no changes to the results from election day.

The Registrar of Electors today confirmed the remaining electors’ enrolments so the special votes could be added to the final tally.

The closest call was in the Northern Ward, where Helene Ritchie has retained her seat on the council, with 27 votes more than Peter Gilberd.

Celia Wade-Brown increased her lead over John Morrison, with 2480 votes compared to 2284 on election night.

The final results are: Celia Wade-Brown (Mayor), Justin Lester, Malcolm Sparrow and Helene Ritchie (Northern Ward), Andy Foster, Jo Coughlan and Simon Woolf (Onslow-Western Ward), Iona Pannett, Nicola Young and Mark Peck (Lambton Ward), Simon Swampy Marsh, Ray Ahipene-Mercer and Sarah Free (Eastern Ward), Paul Eagle and David Lee (Southern Ward).

Incumbent Councillors Leonie Gill (Eastern Ward) and Bryan Pepperell (Southern Ward) were not returned.

The official declaration of the final election result will be published in local newspapers this Friday. The Mayor and Councillors take office the day after the official declaration, however they cannot act until they are sworn in. Non-returning existing councillors will leave office on Saturday 19 October (the day their successors take office).


Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url

1 comment:

  1. Victor Davie, 16. October 2013, 21:10

    Democracy. What a wonderful thing! Go well the new council.