Wellington Scoop

Sharp makes it 2 from 2 at Kaitoke

Report from KartSport New Zealand
Impressive young Christchurch karter Louis Sharp continued on his winning way, claiming Cadet ROK class honours, at the second round of the 2016/17 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series held in sunny conditions in Wellington on Sunday.

Sharp, 9, was one of seven class winners at host club KartSport Wellington’s George Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Raceway at Kaitoke, carrying on where he left off at the opening round of the series in Taranaki in November last year.

The reigning South Island champion didn’t exactly have the round win handed to him on a plate either. Auckland’s Sebastian Manson, Pukekohe’s Emerson Vincent and Judd Christiansen from Palmerston North also won heats and Vincent won the standalone Cadet ROK class Grand Prix race from Manson, Sharp and Tom Bewley from Havelock North/

The class win gives Sharp a solid boost in the series points standings, plus confidence ahead of KartSport New Zealand’s annual Sprint Nationals meeting in Invercargill at Easter.

The action was just as close and exciting in the next age group class up, Vortex Mini ROK, where Liam Sceats from Auckland claimed a breakthrough 2016/17 Goldstar series win by a single point over Zac Christensen from Christchurch with Hamilton’s Asten Addy and Auckland’s Mason Potter tied for third place just three points back.

Christensen also finished second in the Vortex Mini ROK GP race, in that case behind Logan Manson from Levin and Ayrton Williams from Auckland.

Palmerston North driver Jackson Rooney, meanwhile, was the dominant force in the Junior Rotax class, winning four heats and finishing second in the other.

The winner of that heat race, KartSport Manawatu clubmate Riley Jack, also had a standout day, finishing second overall ahead of William Exton from Picton and Zac Stichbury from Havelock North.

Needless to say Jackson Rooney also won the Junior Rotax GP race, in this case from William Exton, Zac Stichbury and fellow second-generation Hawke’s Bay racer Ronan Murphy.

The big news in the senior ranks was the successful integration of the recently introduced Briggs & Stratton 4-stroke engine-based ClubSport LO206 class alongside the ClubSport 120 class. The two engine configurations were closely matched and provided close, intense racing for the 12-kart field throughout the day.

Six ClubSport LO206 karts were entered with victory going to Mike Love from fellow locals Shane Sayer and Josh Logan.

Round one class winner Braden Parsons was again the winner of the ClubSport 120 class – from Brent Hickmott and Roger Pepperell.

In the other Senior classes Jacob Cranston won Open (as well as the Senior GP) from Brendon Jury and Quin Clark, while John Wallace won Rotax Light from Ethan Hourigan and first round class winner Scott Manson.

Hourigan, however, was first Rotax Light runner home in the Senior GP race from Campbell Jamieson and James Higgins

The KartSport Hawke’s Bay club hosts the third round of the series at its Hasting’s track, Chemz Raceway Roy’s Hill on Sunday May 07 before the annual standalone WPKA Championships in Palmerston North on Sunday June 04

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url