Wellington Scoop

Recognition for hard work of volunteers

Press Release – English Language Partners New Zealand
Not-for-profit training establishment English Language Partners (ELPNZ) recognised the commitment and dedication of its learners and tutors at their inaugural awards ceremony, held at Te Papa on Saturday.

The organisation provides refugees and migrants the opportunity to learn English, so they can pursue aspirations for themselves and their families, and participate in all aspects of life in New Zealand.

Chief Executive Nicola Sutton says the awards, presented by Sir Anand Satyanand, create a new opportunity for ELPNZ to celebrate the achievements of refugee and migrant learners, their volunteer teachers, and others who make a huge contribution to the Trust’s work.

Participants from ELPNZ’s 23 nationwide centres gathered on the night to celebrate. The 11 winners were awarded under four categories: Distinguished Volunteer Service; Outstanding Learning Achievement; Premier; and Refugee Achievement, which carries a $2,000 educational scholarship.
Ms Sutton says achievement is a very relative and individual experience. “What may be considered a small step forward for one learner may be an enormous accomplishment for another.”

English Language Partners offers a range of programmes, from beginners English to conversational English and English for the workplace, as well as more tailored courses such as learning the road code. It also offers in-home tutoring for learners who are unable to access group lessons.
“We believe being able to communicate in everyday English and understand how things are done here is essential for good settlement outcomes. Success benefits everyone, including communities and workplaces,” says Ms Sutton.
English Language Partners New Zealand 2017 National Award Winners:

Refugee Achievement Award: Sandra Clavijo Cristancho (Porirua)
Given to learners from refugee or asylum seeker backgrounds who have made exceptional learning gains and achievements with their English language. Carries with it a $2,000 educational scholarship.

Outstanding Learning Achievement Award: Moreen Shamoel (Wellington), Sebastiana Canales de Alvarez (Rotorua), Rosa Fidela Munoz Alvarado (Waikato).
Given to individuals who have made exceptional gains and achievements through their work with English Language Partners.

Distinguished Volunteer Service Award: Daphne Hutton (Waikato), Denise Lawrence (Wellington), Carolyn Williamson (Southland), Gretta Dymond (Porirua), Robert Redmond (South Auckland).
Given to volunteers who have made outstanding contributions in their work with refugees and migrants.

Premier Award: Rhonda Lin, Gillian Skyrme
This award recognises those who have made outstanding contributions to the work of ELPNZ, through their exceptional service or support at the local or national level.

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url