Wellington Scoop

Wellingtonians win WorldSkills graphic design awards

Press Release – Worldskills
Wellington competitors won all three awards for graphic design in the WorldSkills New Zealand national competition held at the Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) which saw 67 regional competition finalists showcase their work skills across 14 industry categories.

Medal winners now go forward for selection to the Tool Blacks, New Zealand’s representative team for the WorldSkills Oceania Competition in Melbourne early next year, and later for the 2017 WorldSkills International Competition in Abu Dhabi.

The 2016 National Competition winners for each category were the following:

Carpentry – Todd Hamilton from the New Zealand Defence Force (Gold), Lochlan Kennedy from Otago/South Island (Silver), and Hunter Flatz from Auckland (Bronze)
Joinery – Matthew McLellan from Otago/South Island (Gold)

Plumbing and Heating – Hunter Turner from Auckland (Gold), Isaac Wairau from Otago/South Island (Silver), and Jade Winter from Wellington (Bronze)
Floristry – Drew Mackey from Auckland (Gold)

Graphic Design – Sarah Browning from Wellington (Gold), Mitch Batie from Wellington (Silver), and Marcus Seamanu from Wellington (Bronze)

Industrial Mechanic Millwright – Shea Keir from Waikato (Gold)
BOC Welding – Andrew Champion from Wellington (Gold) and Bradley Vandy from Waikato (Silver)

Cooking – Nicholas Todd from the New Zealand Defence Force (Gold), Zach Meads from Wellington (Silver), and Danielle Swart from the New Zealand Defence Force (Bronze)

Hairdressing – Leana King from Otago/South Island (Gold)

Restaurant Service – Kimberly De Schot from the New Zealand Defence Force (Gold)

Service IQ Aircraft Maintenance – Jarrod Wood from Auckland (Gold), Daniel Cornwall from the New Zealand Defence Force (Silver), and Damon Barakat from Auckland (Bronze)

Autobdy Repair – Cargen Cairns from Waikato (Gold)

RALI Automotive Refinishing – Alex Banks-Estall from Wellington (Gold) and Cameron Bone from Auckland (Silver)

Automotive Technology – Logan Candy from the New Zealand Defence Force (Gold), Jeff Sutton from Otago/Southland (Silver), and Morgan Lovelace from Northland (Bronze)

Best in Region were: Northland – Morgan Lovelace; Auckland – Jarrod Wood; Waikato – Cargen Cairns; Wellington – Zach Meads; NZDF – Logan Candy; Canterbury – Sam Cox; and Otago/Southland – Jeff Sutton.

The Sir John Trophy for Best Region was awarded to the New Zealand Defence Force.

Judges of the national competition are experts in their respective trades, who practice either commercially or in technical schools.

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url